Person who thinks about something
Strategic decision-making body of the SDI Germany

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee SDI Germany (LG GDI-DE) is the strategic decision-making body of the SDI Germany. It controls and coordinates the implementation and further development of the SDI Germany including the implementation of the INSPIRE Directive (RL 2007/2/EC). The LG GDI-DE also acts as the national contact point of the European Commission for the implementation of the INSPIRE Directive.

The federal government is represented as well as all federal states and the three municipal head associations. Representatives from industry and science also participate in an advisory capacity.

The steering committee meets twice a year. Decisions are generally taken unanimously in the steering committee. The members of the steering committee receive a coordinated mandate from the committees in their respective areas of responsibility (federal government, federal states, municipalities). The votes are not weighted when decisions are taken.

Members of the Steering Committee
  • Federal Government: Dr. Christoph Latsch (dep. Chair), Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community
  • Federal Government: Dr. Roland Goetzke, Federal Ministry for Transport and Digital Infrastructur
  • Baden-Württemberg: Dieter Heß, Ministry of Rural Affairs and Consumer Protection
  • Bayern: Daniela Schleder, Bavarian State Ministry of Finance, Rural Development and Homeland
  • Berlin: Thomas Luckhardt, Senate Department for Urban Development and Housing
  • Brandenburg: Andre Schönitz, Ministry of the Interior and Municipalities of the Land Brandenburg
  • Bremen: Katrin Weke, Senator for Climate Protection, Enviroment, Mobility, Urban Development and Housing
  • Hamburg: Rolf-Werner Welzel (Chair), Agency for Geoinformation and Surveying
  • Hessen: Mario Friehl (Chair), Ministry of Economics, Energy, Transport and Housing of the State of Hessen
  • Mecklenburg-Vorpommern: Carsten Kleinfeldt, Ministry of the Interior and Europe
  • Niedersachsen: René Käker, Ministry for Internal Affairs and Sport
  • Nordrhein-Westfalen: André Caffier, Ministry of Home Affairs and Local Government 
  • Rheinland-Pfalz: Herrmann-Josef Heinz, Ministry of the Interior, Sport and Infrasturcture
  • Saarland: Thomas Lehnert, State Agency for Surveying, Geoinformation and Rural Development
  • Sachsen: Gerold Werner, Saxon State Ministry for Regrional Development
  • Sachsen-Anhalt: Patrick Dürrwald, Ministry for Regional Development and Transport 
  • Schleswig-Holstein: Christoph Krebs, Ministry of the Interior, Rural Areas and Integration
  • Thüringen: Ina Schicktanz, Thuringian Ministry of Infrastructure and Agriculture
  • Association of German Cities: Ulrich Frisch, Surveying and Geoinformation Agency of the Landeshauptstadt Schwerin and the Landkreis Ludwigslust-Parchim
  • Association of German Counties: Dr. Kay Ruge, DLT Councillor
  • German Association of Towns and Communities: Bernd Düsterdiek, Head of Unit Environment and Town Planning DStGB
Permanent guests
  • Coordination Office SDI Germany: Andreas von Dömming, Federal Agency for Cartography and Geodesy
  • Operation Office SDI Germany: Manuel Fischer, Federal Agency for Cartography and Geodesy
  • BKG: Dr. Martin Lenk (Representative), Federal Agency for Cartography and Geodesy (BKG)
  • Working Group INSPIRE: Dr. Markus Meinert, Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB)
  • Science: Prof. Dr. Lars BernardTechnische Universität Dresden
  • Economy: Prof. Dr. Gerd Buziek


Decisions of the Steering Committee Meetings

Decisions in the steering committee must in principle be taken unanimously. The representatives on the steering committee must first obtain a cross-disciplinary vote in their area of responsibility (federal government, the respective state or the umbrella organisation). 

The decisions of the steering committee are published on this website and are available in German.